I went to San Diego. It was amazing.
I have a job as a babysitter. They little girl has an unjustified hatred for me.
But that is not what I want to talk about.
Why are parents so eager to accept that there kids friends are "good kids". I know my parents reason for it. They base there opinion of my life off of my friend, but most parents don't do that. (right?) (Most parents also have a different brand of crazy then mine... or so I have been repeatedly told.)
So why does the average parent do this? Shouldn't they be looking for signs to make sure they aren't hanging out with people who kill small animals, or people getting arrested before freshman year, instead of rationalizing things, and convincing themselves that there friends are "good kids"?
Lately I have been noticing how completely idiotic some parents are. Perhaps I am just a horrible person, painfully pessimistic, or what ever the hell you want to call it, but after talking to a kid (5-12) I can make a guess what general direction they are headed, and like reality of the world, most of them will not be falling under the "good kid" category. For instance, there is this ten year old little boy, and I can already tell that he is going to smoke obscene gobs of weed between 8th grade (or 7th) and the end of high school. I only pray his parents don't don't send him to private school. They have the prescription drugs there, and he will get into so much more trouble with them. I bet you he will still be labeled as a "good kid" then, because all his friend's parents either don't know the smell of weed, or will force themselves to believe that there precious angle would never associate with someone who does that.
Perhaps it is a mix of self-inflicted blindness, and too high of a standard. For an example, I am a good kid. I don't do drugs, I have never been in trouble with the law (or even the principal for that matter), and I get decent grades in school. Yet, if I put my mind to it, I could acquire meth, cocaine, or heroin with in the hour. That does not fall under most parents idea of what comes with a "good kid's" arsenal of knowledge.
I guess I just haven't seen any parents in touch with the real world in a while.
It makes me sad.
Wednesday, June 22, 2011
I haven't seen any parents in touch with the real world in a while.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

0 comments:
Post a Comment